10 Best Volunteer Activities in Retirement


Lots More Information

UP NEXT

Does the Peace Corps want retired volunteers?

Does the Peace Corps want retired volunteers?

Does the Peace Corps want retired volunteers? Learn about the Peace Corps and how retired volunteers can serve


Related Articles

Sources

  • Auburn Heights Preserve. "Become a Volunteer." (May 9, 2011) http://www.auburnheights.org/?page_id=553
  • Big Brothers Big Sisters. "Big impact - proven results." (May 9, 2011) http://www.bbbs.org/site/c.9iILI3NGKhK6F/b.5961035/k.A153/Big_impact8212proven_results.htm
  • Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. "Volunteer Opportunities." (May 9, 2011) http://www.chop.edu/about/volunteer-opportunities/programs/
  • Garcia, Nelson. "Volunteers can earn property tax rebates." 9News.com. Oct. 3, 2009. (May 6, 2011) http://www.9news.com/news/story.aspx?storyid=124371&catid=339
  • Good Works Inc. "About Us." (May 9, 2011) http://www.goodworksinc.org/about/index.html
  • Global Volunteers. "Boomers Reach Out Abroad." (May 9, 2011) http://www.globalvolunteers.org/serve/boomers.asp
  • Grinberg, Emanuella. "Boomers will redefine notions of age." CNN.com. May 9, 2011. (May 9, 2011) http://www.cnn.com/2011/LIVING/05/09/baby.boomers.retirement.legacy/
  • Habitat for Humanity. "Volunteer! Get involved with Habitat for Humanity." (May 9, 2011) http://www.habitat.org/getinv/default.aspx
  • Heagerty, Amelia. "Row by row, islanders help a new garden grow." Vashon Maury Community Food Bank. May 20, 2009. (May 7, 2011) http://www.vashonfoodbank.org/news.html
  • Idealist.org. "About You." (May 4, 2011) http://www.idealist.org/info/About/You
  • International Senior Lawyers Project. "About Us." (May 9, 2011) http://www.islp.org/aboutus.html
  • Kentucky Horse Park. "Volunteer." (May 9, 2011) http://kyhorsepark.com/volunteer
  • Meals on Wheels. "Who We Are." (May 9, 2011) http://www.mowaa.org/page.aspx?pid=212
  • Medical Reserve Corps. "About." (May 10, 2011) http://www.medicalreservecorps.gov/About
  • Northwest Harvest. "Seniors: A vulnerable and vital community." Winter 2006. (May 6, 2011) http://media.redclaycms.com/sites/304/images/PDF%20Documents/2006_winter.pdf
  • Pacelle, Wayne. "55 Actions for Animals and the HSUS." Humane Society of the United States. August 16, 2010. (May 9, 2011) http://hsus.typepad.com/wayne/2010/08/50-things-you-can-do.html
  • Prisuta, Robert, Ph.D. "Enhancing Volunteerism among Aging Boomers." AARP. Oct. 2003. (May 9, 2011) http://assets.aarp.org/rgcenter/general/boomers_engagement_2.pdf
  • Red Cross. "International Services." (May 9, 2011) http://www.redcross.org/portal/site/en/menuitem.86f46a12f382290517a8f210b80f78a0/?vgnextoid=127d44e75215b110VgnVCM10000089f0870aRCRD&vgnextfmt=default
  • Road Scholar. "Service Learning Programs." (May 4, 2011) http://www.roadscholar.org/Programs/search_res.asp?Type=A&ProgDesc=Service+Learning
  • Senior Corps. "Senior Corps Programs." (May 9, 2011) http://www.seniorcorps.gov/about/programs/index.asp
  • Toscano, Paul. "Boomers Buck the Trend for Retirement Hot Spots." CNBC.com. Feb. 5, 2010. (May 7, 2011) http://www.cnbc.com/id/35259864/Boomers_Buck_the_Trend_for_Retirement_Hot_Spots
  • UC Davis Retiree Center. "Volunteer Opportunities." (May 9, 2011) http://retireecenter.ucdavis.edu/volunteer.html
  • United States Department of Veterans Affairs. "VA Voluntary Service." (May 7, 2011) http://www.volunteer.va.gov/index.asp
  • USO. "Ways to Volunteer." (May 9, 2011) http://www.uso.org/ways-to-volunteer.aspx
  • Volunteer Match. "About." (May 4, 2011) http://www.volunteermatch.org/about/

More to Explore