14 of the New Deals Alphabet Agencies

FLSA (Fair Labor Standard Act)

This labor law, enacted in 1938, was the last major piece of New Deal legislation intended to reform the economy, and it is still with us today. This law established the minimum wage, which at the time was twenty-five cents an hour. It also set the standard for the 40-hour work week and banned the use of child labor.

Related Articles


The True Story of Blood Diamonds

The True Story of Blood Diamonds

Diamonds weren't even very popular before the 1930s. Stuff They Don't Want You To Know examines what made these stones so important -- and expensive.

More to Explore