How Living Without a Bank Account Works


Lots More Information

Author's Note: How Living Without a Bank Account Works

Many years ago I moved to a new city and found work before I found a bank to put my paycheck in. For several weeks I relied on check cashing outlets that charged me 3 percent of my check amount for the transaction. That was a lot more than what was charged by the credit union where I eventually opened an account, but I was grateful that such an outfit existed, otherwise I would have been wandering around town with a useless piece of paper in my wallet.

Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • Armstrong, Martin A. "The Origins of Money." Armstrong Economics. (Nov. 9, 2016) https://www.armstrongeconomics.com/research/monetary-history-of-the-world/historical-outline-origins-of-money/money-and-the-evolution-of-banking/
  • Boland, Vincent. "The world's first modern, public bank." Financial Times. April 17, 2009. (Oct. 28, 2016) https://www.ft.com/content/6851f286-288d-11de-8dbf-00144feabdc0
  • Bourke, Nick. "Regulators Should Let Banks Get Back to Small-Dollar Loans." American Banker. Sept. 16, 2015. (Nov. 2, 2016) http://www.americanbanker.com/bankthink/regulators-should-let-banks-get-back-to-small-dollar-loans-1076693-1.html
  • Boyle, Mark. "Living without money: what I learned." The Guardian. Sept. 15, 2015. (Oct. 27, 2016) https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2015/sep/15/living-without-money-what-i-learned
  • CashNetUSA. (Nov. 2, 2016) https://www.cashnetusa.com/
  • Fontinelle, Amy. "An Introduction to Complementary Currencies." Investopedia. (Oct. 27, 2016) http://www.investopedia.com/articles/economics/11/introduction-complementary-currencies.asp
  • Gross, Jessica. "10 alternative currencies, from Bitcoin to BerkShares to sweat to laundry detergent." TEDBlog. July 25, 2013. (Oct. 27, 2016) http://blog.ted.com/10-alternative-currencies-from-bitcoin-to-berkshares-to-sweat-to-laundry-detergent/
  • Kawa, Lucas. "How the Rothschilds Created Modern Finance and a Vast Fortune That Has Lasted for Centuries." Business Insider. Dec. 23, 2012. (Oct. 28, 2016) http://www.businessinsider.com/the-early-rothschilds-built-a-fortune-2012-12
  • New, Catherine. "Josh Crawford Has Not Had a Bank Account in More Than a Decade and Likes It That Way." The Huffington Post. May 7, 2012. (Oct. 27, 2016) http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/05/07/josh-crawford-underbanked-prepaid-cards_n_1479300.html
  • Off the Grid News. "3 Simple Steps to Surviving Without a Bank Account." (Oct. 27, 2016) http://www.offthegridnews.com/financial/3-simple-steps-to-surviving-without-a-bank-account/
  • Safdar, Khadeeja. "No Bank Account: Huffington Post Readers Respond About Living off the Financial Grid." The Huffington Post. June 7, 2012. (Oct. 25, 2016) http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/06/07/no-bank-account-huffington-post-readers_n_1574192.html
  • Servon, Lisa J. "The High Cost, for the Poor, of Using a Bank." The New Yorker. Oct. 9, 2013. (Nov. 3, 2016) http://www.newyorker.com/business/currency/the-high-cost-for-the-poor-of-using-a-bank
  • Stahl, Lesley. "The Future of Money." 60 Minutes. Nov. 22, 2015. (Nov. 3, 2016) http://www.cbsnews.com/news/future-of-money-kenya-m-pesa-60-minutes/
  • Timebanks.org. "What Is Timebanking?" (Oct. 27, 2016) http://timebanks.org/what-is-timebanking/
  • White, Gillian B. "Payday Loan Rule: Progress, but Still a Long Way to Go." The Atlantic. June 2, 2016. (Nov. 2, 2016) http://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2016/06/cfpb-payday-loan-rule/485294/
  • White, Gillian B. "The Millions of Americans Without Bank Accounts." The Atlantic. Oct. 20, 2016. (Oct. 28, 2016) http://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2016/10/fdic-underbanked-cfpb/504881/
  • White, Gillian B. "The New Rules of Digital Cash." The Atlantic. Oct. 5, 2016. (Nov. 2, 2016) http://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2016/10/cfpb-prepaid-venmo/503000/

More to Explore