10 Companies That Completely Reinvented Themselves


Lots More Information

UP NEXT

Sure, Amazon's Changed Shopping, But Retailers Can Still Compete

Sure, Amazon's Changed Shopping, But Retailers Can Still Compete

Just 9 percent of all shopping is online, but it's growing fast. HowStuffWorks shares a few tricks retail stores are using to stay competitive.


Author's Note: 10 Companies That Completely Reinvented Themselves

There are a lot of reasons to envy the CEOs of major corporations: the summer homes in Vail, the fleets of Italian sports cars, the parade of beautiful wives, each younger than the next. But if there's a downside to the job, it must be the nagging threat of total and instant obsolescence. In the Internet age, consumer tastes turn on a dime. If you make your millions by selling things to the public, you need to be part R&D genius and part fortune teller. Not only do you need to design, build and market great products, but you need to predict what consumers will want three years before they want it. That's what Apple did so brilliantly under Steve Jobs and what so many other CEOs aspire to replicate. It must make for some sleepless nights, but nothing that can't be cured by a midnight spin in the Lamborghini.

Related Articles

Sources

  • American Express. "Our Story" (Jan. 2, 2014) https://secure.cmax.americanexpress.com/Internet/GlobalCareers/Staffing/Shared/Files/our_story_3.pdf
  • Bajarin, Tim. "What's Next for Steve Jobs and Apple?" PC Mag. Oct. 22, 2010. (Jan. 2, 2014) http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2371311,00.asp
  • CBBC. "From cards to cartridges: The history of Nintendo." Sept. 20, 2013. (Jan. 2, 2014) http://www.bbc.co.uk/newsround/24175935
  • Dediu, Horace. "Can Microsoft and Nokia Pull Each Other Out of the Abyss in 2014?" Forbes India. Jan. 8, 2014. (Jan. 9, 2014) http://forbesindia.com/article/the-big-questions-for-2014/can-nokia-and-microsoft-pull-each-other-out-of-the-abyss-in-2014/36847/1
  • Forbes. "Warren Buffett." September 2013. (Jan. 2, 2014) http://www.forbes.com/profile/warren-buffett/
  • Frierman, Shelly. "The Telegram Falls Silent Stop Era Ends Stop." The New York Times. Feb. 6, 2006. (Jan. 9, 2014) http://www.nytimes.com/2006/02/06/technology/06telegram.html?_r=1&
  • Hudson, Kris and Das, Anupreeta. "Mayor Tries to Save Warren Buffett's Old Berkshire Hathaway Headquarters." The Wall Street Journal. Dec. 1, 2013. (Jan. 2, 2014) http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB10001424052702304579404579232351285066532
  • IDC. "Worldwide Server Market Revenues Decline." Aug. 27, 2013. (Jan. 2, 2014) http://www.idc.com/getdoc.jsp?containerId=prUS24285213
  • Jones, Teegan. "The Surprisingly Long History of Nintendo." Gizmodo. Sept. 20, 2013. (Jan. 2, 2014) http://gizmodo.com/the-surprisingly-long-history-of-nintendo-1354286257
  • Jordan, Miriam. "Latin Migrants Shift Sights from U.S. to Neighbors." The Wall Street Journal. Nov. 18, 2013. (Jan. 2, 2014) http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB10001424052702303531204579203861742570436
  • Melia, Mike. "Remembering Hiroshi Yamauchi, who took Nintendo from playing cards, to love hotels, to electronics giant." PBS NewsHour. Sept. 19, 2013. (Jan. 2, 2014) http://www.pbs.org/newshour/rundown/2013/09/a-look-at-the-legacy-of-nintendos-yamauchi.html
  • Moltz, John. "What Apple does best: reinventing, not inventing." Macworld. May 30, 2013. (Jan. 2, 2014) http://www.macworld.com/article/2039920/what-apple-does-best-reinventing-not-inventing.html
  • Motavelli, Jim. "About Face: Companies That Reinvented Themselves." Success. (Jan. 2, 2014) http://www.success.com/article/about-face-companies-that-reinvented-themselves
  • Nokia. "The Nokia Story." (Jan. 2, 2014) http://www.nokia.com/global/about-nokia/about-us/the-nokia-story/
  • Old Computers. "Newton MessagePad – 1993." (Jan. 2, 2014) http://oldcomputers.net/apple-newton.html
  • Rao, Bharat and Mulloth, Bala. "The Evolution of Wipro, Ltd." Polytechnic University. (Jan. 2, 2014) http://faculty.poly.edu/~brao/wipro.case.pdf
  • Shell. "Our History." (Jan. 2, 2014) http://www.shell.com/global/aboutshell/who-we-are/our-history/the-beginnings.html
  • Shell. "Shell at a Glance." (Jan. 2, 2014) http://www.shell.com/global/aboutshell/at-a-glance.html
  • van Kralingen, Bridget. "IBM's Transformation — From Survival to Success." Forbes. July 7, 2010. (Jan. 2, 2014) http://www.forbes.com/2010/07/07/ibm-transformation-lessons-leadership-managing-change.html
  • Western Union. "Our History." (Jan. 2, 2014) http://www.westernunionworld.com/ourhistory/
  • Williamson, Lucy. "Samsung overtakes Nokia in mobile phone shipments." April 27, 2012. (Jan. 2, 2014) http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-17865117
  • Wipro. "About Wipro" (Jan. 2, 2014) http://www.wipro.com/about-wipro/