Prev Next  

Advertisement

How LLC Taxes Work

Lots More Information

Author's Note: How LLC Taxes Work

As a self-employed writer married to an accountant, I let my hubby figure out how I should file my taxes. He went with sole proprietorship, but now I'm wondering if I should create an LLC. We'll have to revisit this issue.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Akalp, Nellie. "Will an LLC Help Lower Your Business Taxes?" Small Business Trends. Nov. 29, 2011. (Dec. 8, 2014) http://smallbiztrends.com/2011/11/will-llc-lower-business-taxes.html
  • Beesley, Caron. "6 Things You Need to Know About Your Tax Responsibilities as an LLC." U.S. Small Business Administration. Nov. 13, 2012. (Dec. 8, 2014) https://www.sba.gov/blogs/6-things-you-need-know-about-your-tax-responsibilities-llc
  • BizFilings. "Benefits of Creating an LLC." (Dec. 8, 2014) http://www.bizfilings.com/learn/creating-llc.aspx
  • BizFilings. "Compare Tax Considerations by Business Type." (Dec. 11, 2014) http://www.bizfilings.com/learn/taxes-business-types.aspx
  • BizFilings. "LLC Electing S Corp Status -- The Best of Both Worlds." Aug. 26, 2012. (Dec. 14, 2014) http://www.bizfilings.com/toolkit/news/tax-info/llc-plus-scorp-equal-best-of-both.aspx
  • BizFilings. "Overview of Tax Implications of LLCs and Corporations." May 24, 2012. (Dec. 8, 2014) http://www.bizfilings.com/toolkit/sbg/run-a-business/assets/tax-considerations-of-llcs-corporations.aspx
  • Bradie, Bradie & Bradie. "Why Are LLCs So Popular?" November 2010. (Dec. 11, 2014) http://bradie-law.com/your-topics/why-are-llcs-so-popular/
  • Companies Incorporated. "LLC Tax Classifications." (Dec. 8, 2014) http://www.companiesinc.com/llc/tax-classifications.asp
  • Dahl, Darren. "Should Your Business Be an LLC or an S-Corp?" Inc. March 17, 2011. (Dec. 8, 2014) http://www.inc.com/guides/201103/s-corp-vs-llc.html
  • Dealy, E.J. "Tax Advantages of Filing as LLC, S-Corp and More." Fox Business. March 7, 2013. (Dec. 8, 2014) http://smallbusiness.foxbusiness.com/finance-accounting/2013/03/06/tax-advantages-filing-as-llc-s-corp-and-more/
  • Hall, Aaron. "Can an LLC Be Taxed as S Corp? Reducing Taxes by Reducing Self-Employment Tax." Thompson Hall. (Dec. 17, 2014) http://thompsonhall.com/can-an-llc-be-taxed-as-s-corp-minnesota-tax-attorney/
  • Internal Revenue Service. "1040 Instructions 2013." Dec. 24, 2013. (Dec. 14, 2014) http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/i1040gi.pdf
  • Internal Revenue Service. "Instructions for Form 1120." Dec. 20, 2103. (Dec. 14, 2014) http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/i1120.pdf
  • Internal Revenue Service. "Limited Liability Company (LLC)." Sept. 8, 2014. (Dec. 8, 2014) http://www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-Businesses-&-Self-Employed/Limited-Liability-Company-LLC
  • Laurence, Beth. "How LLC Members Are Taxed." Nolo. (Dec. 8, 2014) http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/how-llcs-are-taxed-29675.html
  • Masters, Terry. "LLC & Profit Distribution." Houston Chronicle. (Dec. 14, 2014) http://smallbusiness.chron.com/llc-profit-distribution-54720.html
  • Meier, David. "The Many Benefits of Forming an LLC." Entrepreneur. Aug. 16, 2004. (Dec. 8, 2014) http://www.entrepreneur.com/article/72134
  • Nolo. "Limited Liability Company (LLC) FAQ." (Dec. 8, 2014) http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/limited-liability-company-llc-faq-29144-7.html
  • Rocket Lawyer. "3 Tax Advantages of Creating an LLC." (Dec. 8, 2014) https://www.rocketlawyer.com/article/3-tax-advantages-creating-llc.rl
  • Rocket Lawyer. "How Do LLCs Get Taxed? Choosing a Tax Structure for Your LLC." (Dec. 8, 2014) https://www.rocketlawyer.com/article/llc-tax-information.rl
  • Wasserman, Elizabeth. "The Pros and Cons of Setting Up a C Corp." Inc. March 2, 2010. (Dec. 17, 2014) http://www.inc.com/guides/starting-a-c-corp.html

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement


Advertisement


Recommended

Advertisement

Advertisement