10 Extinct Job Titles


1
Party Line Operator
Party line operators no longer exist and switchboard operators are also declining, but in the 1940s both were in great demand. Hulton Archive/Getty Images)

In the early days of the telephone (early to mid-20th century), access to this new technology was more common in large cities and less so in remote areas. When telephone service was extended to rural areas, phone companies often employed party lines that could be shared between as many as 20 homes to minimize the number of lines they needed to string (and maintain).

Party lines worked liked this: Every household that was part of a given party line had its own phone number and a unique Morse Code-like ring, such as four short rings or a long ring, short ring, long ring. If your mother was calling you, the phone would ring in everyone's home that shared your party line. But you'd know the call was for you because you'd recognize your "ring." Similarly, the other members of the party line would know to ignore the call because it wasn't intended for them [source: The Telecommunications History Group].

While you could call members of your party line by yourself, any calls you wished to place to people who were not on your party line had to go through a switchboard operator, who would connect your call. But with the advent of advanced phone technology, it became just as simple to establish one-person lines as party lines. With today's computer technology and voice recognition software there is seldom a need for a human to operate a switchboard at all. However, the jobs still exist at hospitals and some large corporations.

Author's Note: 10 Extinct Job Titles

One job that will never go away: writer. Yes!

Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • Asmus, Geoffrey. "10 Of The Strangest Jobs In The Victorian Era." Listverse. Jan. 4, 2015. (Sept. 15, 2015) http://listverse.com/2015/01/04/10-bizarre-victorian-era-jobs/
  • Baer, Drake. "17 Bizarre Jobs Our Ancestors Did That No Longer Exist." Business Insider. Sept. 23, 2014. (Sept. 14, 2015) http://www.businessinsider.com/weird-jobs-that-no-longer-exist-2014-9?op=1
  • Central Pacific Railroad Photographic History Museum."'Pacific Telegraph Act of 1860'." (Sept. 20, 2015) http://cprr.org/Museum/Pacific_Telegraph_Act_1860.html
  • Cotswalds. "The Last Court Jester." (Sept. 19, 2015) http://www.cotswolds.info/strange-things/last-court-jester.shtml
  • Forbes. "Top 20 Disappearing Jobs." (Sept. 20, 2015) http://www.forbes.com/pictures/lmj45ighg/top-20-disappearing-jobs/
  • Forgotten New England. "Past Occupations: Lamplighters in Lowell, Massachusetts." Nov. 22, 2012. (Sept. 18, 2015) http://forgottennewengland.com/2012/11/22/past-occupations-lamplighters-in-lowell-massachusetts/
  • Gordon, Claire. "The Return of Wet Nursing." AOL Jobs. Jan. 20, 2012. (Sept. 23, 2015) http://jobs.aol.com/articles/2012/01/20/the-return-of-wet-nursing/
  • HistoryNet. "Pony Express." (Sept. 15, 2015) http://www.historynet.com/pony-express
  • McManus, Barbara. "The Circus: Roman Chariot Racing." Vroma. July 2003. (Sept. 20, 2015) http://www.vroma.org/~bmcmanus/circus.html
  • Medieval Life and Times. "Medieval Jobs." (Sept. 15, 2015) http://www.medieval-life-and-times.info/medieval-england/medieval-jobs.htm
  • Medieval Warfare. "Armour." (Sept. 18, 2015) http://www.medievalwarfare.info/armour.htm
  • Newman, Simon. "Jesters in the Middle Ages." The Finer Times. (Sept. 19, 2015) http://www.thefinertimes.com/Middle-Ages/jesters-in-the-middle-ages.html
  • Olexa, Russ. "Steel For A Suit Of Armor." FF Journal. (Sept. 18, 2015) http://www.ffjournal.net/item/9537-steel-for-a-suit-of-armor.html
  • Oswald, Alison. "Set Em' Up! Knock Em' Down! Bowling's Automated Pin Technology." Smithsonian. Aug. 12, 2013. (Sept. 16, 2015) http://blog.invention.smithsonian.org/page/6/
  • Pony Express. (Sept. 23, 2015) http://ponyexpress.org/history/
  • Purcell, Gene. "Ice Harvesting the Old-Fashioned Way." Big River Magazine. January 1995. (Sept. 20, 2015) http://www.bigrivermagazine.com/br.story.ice.html
  • Science Museum. "Wet-nursing." (Sept. 15, 2015) http://www.sciencemuseum.org.uk/broughttolife/techniques/wetnursing.aspx
  • Steel Cactus. "Set 'Em Up...Knock Him Down." (Sept. 23, 2015) http://www.steelcactus.com/PINBOY.html
  • The Associated Press. "Early telephone operator recalls party (line) days." Jan. 18, 2010. (Sept. 15, 2015) http://www.nola.com/business/index.ssf/2010/01/early_telephone_operator_recal.html
  • The Telecommunications History Group. "Magneto Service & Party Lines." (Sept. 20, 2015) http://www.telcomhistory.org/vm/exhibitsSeattle4.shtml
  • Tribunes and Triumphs. "Ancient Roman Jobs." (Sept. 15, 2015) http://www.tribunesandtriumphs.org/roman-life/ancient-roman-jobs.htm
  • Wolf, Jacqueline H. "Wet-Nursing." Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society. 2004. Encyclopedia.com. (Sept. 22, 2015) http://www.encyclopedia.com

UP NEXT

How to Answer the Dreaded Question 'What Are Your Salary Requirements?'

How to Answer the Dreaded Question 'What Are Your Salary Requirements?'

HowStuffWorks looks at the difference between the salary history and the salary requirements question in job interviews and how to answer them.


More to Explore