10 Careers Where You Can Eat for a Living


Lots More Information

UP NEXT

The Duckmaster Rules the Roost at the Peabody Hotel

The Duckmaster Rules the Roost at the Peabody Hotel

The Peabody ducks are famous worldwide. Meet the Duckmaster who keeps them all in line with HowStuffWorks.


Author's Note: 10 Careers Where You Can Eat for a Living

Eating for a living sounds like the ultimate career for someone who loves food. However, I found out these jobs require a lot of hard work, odd hours and creativity — along with enduring criticism from customers and restaurants alike. If you have a thick skin and don't mind working alone, some of these jobs might just be a perfect fit. Just make sure you have the proper background (although a competitive eater only needs an iron-clad stomach), and soon enough you could make a name for yourself in food circles.

Related Articles

Sources

  • College Foundation of West Virginia. "The Future is Ripe for Food Scientists." 2009. (Dec. 1, 2014) https://secure.cfwv.com/Home/Article.aspx?level=3XAP2FPAX6J7I3kztATGuYyXAP2BPAXDahIQXAP3DPAXXAP3DPAX&articleId=pPl4FXAP2FPAXvLoGBFgmn6XInY0QXAP3DPAXXAP3DPAX
  • Crosby, Olivia. "You're a What? Research Chef." Occupational Outlook Quarterly. Fall 2002. (Dec. 1, 2014) http://www.bls.gov/careeroutlook/2002/fall/yawhat.pdf
  • First Research. "Bakery Product Manufacturing Industry Profile." April 6, 2015. (June 18, 2015) http://www.firstresearch.com/Industry-Research/Bakery-Product-Manufacturing.html
  • Gill, David. "Disney Employee Profile: Spotlight on a Disney Food Scientist." The Walt Disney Company. Oct. 29, 2012. (June 17, 2015) https://thewaltdisneycompany.com/blog/disney-employee-profile-spotlight-disney-food-scientist
  • Goode, JJ. "Recipe testers: They make the mistakes so you won't have to." The Splendid Table. 2013. (Dec. 1, 2014) http://www.splendidtable.org/story/recipe-testers-they-make-the-mistakes-so-you-wont-have-to
  • Hamblin, James. "The Food Babe: Enemy of Chemicals." The Atlantic. Feb. 11, 2015. (June 17, 2015) http://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2015/02/the-food-babe-enemy-of-chemicals/385301/
  • InsideJobs. "Food Critic." 2013. (Dec. 1, 2014) http://www.insidejobs.com/careers/food-critic
  • Insley, Jill. "A working life: The food taster." The Guardian. June 18, 2010. (Dec. 1, 2014) http://www.theguardian.com/money/2010/jun/19/working-life-food-taster
  • International Cheese Tours. 2015. (June 17, 2015) http://www.cheese-tours.com/concours-fromager.html
  • Jones, G. Stephen. "Conversation with a Cheesemonger." The Reluctant Gourmet. Jan. 29, 2013. (Dec. 1, 2014) http://www.reluctantgourmet.com/conversation-with-a-cheesemonger/
  • Lebovitz, David. "Food Blogging." DavidLebovitz.com. Feb. 25, 2011. (Dec. 1, 2014) http://www.davidlebovitz.com/2011/02/food-blogging-food-blog/
  • Ledbetter, Carly. "Marilyn Hagerty, 'Olive Garden Food Critic,' Reviews McDonald's And They're Lovin' It." The Huffington Post. Jan. 22, 2015. (June 17, 2015) http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2015/01/22/marilyn-hagerty-reviews-mcdonalds_n_6523650.html
  • Meoli, Daria. "Making Mario." New Jersey Monthly. Feb. 8, 2008. (June 17, 2015) http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2015/01/22/marilyn-hagerty-reviews-mcdonalds_n_6523650.html
  • Neporent, Liz. "5 Things You Didn't Know About Competitive Eating." ABC News. July 3, 2014. (Dec. 1, 2014) http://abcnews.go.com/Health/eating-win-things-competitive-eating/story?id=19571743
  • Prue Leith Chef's Academy. "What Does a Chef's Job Entail?" 2014. (Dec. 1, 2014) http://www.prueleith.co.za/article/what-does-a-chefs-job-entail/#.VHukNdawJus
  • Slaton, Joyce. "You're Not Allergic to MSG and 6 More Culinary Secrets." Chow. Jan. 3, 2011. (June 17, 2015) http://www.chow.com/food-news/69604/you-re-not-allergic-to-msg-and-7-more-secrets-from-a-research-chef/
  • Wood, Donald. "Nathan's Hot Dog Eating Contest 2014: Start Time, Prize Money and Contestants." Bleacher Report. July 2, 2014. (Dec. 1, 2014) http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2115654-nathans-hot-dog-eating-contest-2014-start-time-prize-money-and-contestants

More to Explore