5 Bathroom Decorating Ideas on a Budget


1
Less Equals More (Style)

There's a reason high-end hotel rooms and spas are so relaxing, and we aren't even referring to the absence of roaring bosses and demanding children. These spaces-turned-oases give you room to breathe.

They're uncluttered, for starters, and (not coincidentally) they smell really, really good. You can get the same effect without taking out a loan or hocking your jewelry by doing two simple things: Store toiletries out of sight and stick to a monochromatic scheme. Editing the space and limiting the colors will be soothing. Plus, the total effect can make a room seem larger, which can be especially pleasing when it comes to small bathrooms.

Finish the look with a few strategically placed candles and bath salts infused with your essential oil of choice. Essential oils are very strong, so those tiny bottles will go a long way. For a spalike touch, mist a linen spray on bath towels [source: Terry]. DIY Web sites have easy recipes for making your own -- they're really just essential oils, alcohol and water. Alternately, if you have an out-of-control herb garden or leftovers from cooking, a bundle of thyme or rosemary sprigs tied with pretty ribbon or simple twine could make for a pretty sight and scent. The most relaxing part of all may be that this bathroom facelift didn't cost you a fortune.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Ahern, Abigail. "Install a New Faucet." CountryLiving.com. (Oct. 9, 2011) http://www.countryliving.com/homes/how-to-get-the-look/budget-decorating-makeover-0109
  • Apartment Therapy. "Is Installing this New Shower Rod a Good Idea?" (Oct. 9, 2011) http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/ny/faucets-hardware-kitchen-bath/ny-good-questions-is-installing-this-new-shower-rod-a-good-idea-047701
  • Better Homes and Gardens. "30 Ways to Store More in Your Bath." (Oct. 9, 2011) http://www.bhg.com/bathroom/storage/storage-solutions/store-more-in-your-bathroom/#page=7
  • Better Homes and Gardens. "Low-Cost Bathroom Updates." (Oct. 9, 2011) http://www.bhg.com/bathroom/remodeling/projects/quick-bathroom-updates/#page=4
  • Better Homes and Gardens. "Real-Home Makeover: Bathroom on a Budget." (Oct. 9, 2011) http://www.bhg.com/bathroom/remodeling/makeover/budget-bathroom-makeover/#page=9
  • Daniel, Alice. "Chic, Cheap Bathroom Makeover." HGTV.com. (Oct. 9, 2011) http://www.hgtv.com/bathrooms/chic-cheap-bathroom-makeover/index.html
  • Hamilton, Gene. "Estimating How Much Paint to Buy." Dummies.com. (Oct. 9, 2011) http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/estimating-how-much-paint-to-buy.html
  • House and Home. "DIY Ruffled Shower Curtain." (Oct. 9, 2011) http://houseandhome.com/design/diy-ruffled-shower-curtain
  • House To Home. "9 Steps to a Sophisticated Bathroom." (Oct. 9. 2011) http://www.housetohome.co.uk/room-idea/picture/create-a-sophisticated-bathroom-in-9-steps/7
  • Martha Stewart. "Terry-Cloth Shower Curtain." (Oct. 9, 2011) http://www.marthastewart.com/275735/good-things-for-the-bathroom/@center/277006/bedroom-and-bathroom-decorating#/273132
  • O'Hea, Jonathan. "Make a Tray." CountryLiving.com. (Oct. 9, 2011) http://www.countryliving.com/homes/how-to-get-the-look/budget-decorating-makeover-0109
  • Terry, Mindy. "Decorating Ideas: Turn Your Bathroom into an Oasis of Calm." Spa Magazine. (Oct. 9, 2011) http://www.spamagazine.com/articles/healthy-living/how-turn-your-bathroom-oasis-calm

UP NEXT

5 Ways to Save Money (Besides Giving Up Lattes)

5 Ways to Save Money (Besides Giving Up Lattes)

HowStuffWorks talks to financial experts to find out the best ways to save money every day. And none of their advice includes giving up Starbucks.


More to Explore