10 Painless Ways to Save Money


1
Go for Cheap Thrills

We're creatures of habit, but these habits can cost a lot of money in the long run. Instead of the usual dinner and a movie, try a variety of free activities and pocket the savings. You could start by hosting a potluck and then screening a movie that you borrowed for free from your local library. And rather than paying $80 or more for a concert packed with screaming fans, seek out free music performances in your community. Art museums and local venues, as well as upscale shopping centers, often host free concerts on weekends [source: Derrick].

You also could save big by becoming a tourist in your own town. Most local art museums, historical sites and homes offer admission for a nominal donation or, in some cases, for free. And if your city offers walking tours, take advantage of them. You can discover more free or low-cost attractions by visiting the Web site of your local chamber of commerce or convention and visitor bureau.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Bank Rate. "Simple Savings Calculator." (Oct. 24, 2011) http://www.bankrate.com/calculators/savings/simple-savings-calculator.aspx
  • Bissonnette, Zac. "Savings Experiment: Can Dryel, Woolite and a Steam Cleaner Beat a Dry Cleaner?" Daily Finance. Jan. 19, 2010. (Oct. 24, 2011) http://www.dailyfinance.com/2010/01/19/savings-experiment-can-dryel-woolite-and-a-steam-cleaner-beat/
  • Chan, Daisy. "10 Things Your Dry Cleaner Won't Tell You." Smart Money. Feb. 11, 2003. (Oct. 24, 2011) http://www.smartmoney.com/spend/family-money/10-things-your-dry-cleaner-wont-tell-you-13908/?zone=intromessage
  • Consumer Reports. "Store Brands vs. Name Brands." October 2010. (Oct. 22, 2011) http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/magazine-archive/2010/october/shopping/store-brands-vs-name-brands/overview/index.htm
  • Credit Union National Association. "Daily Rate Comparison." (Oct. 24, 2011) http://www.creditunion.coop/ratedex.php
  • Derrick, Jennifer. "Free (or Nearly Free) Entertainment for Every Week of the Year." Saving Advice. April 10, 2008. (Oct. 24, 2011) http://www.savingadvice.com/articles/2008/04/10/102085_free-or-nearly-free-entertainment.html
  • Franchise Direct. "Fast Casual Restaurant Franchise Industry Report." (Oct. 24, 2011) http://www.franchisedirect.com/foodfranchises/fastcasualrestaurantfranchisestudy/14/260
  • Energy Savers. "Thermostats and Control Systems." (Oct. 24, 2011) http://www.energysavers.gov/your_home/space_heating_cooling/index.cfm/mytopic=12720
  • Fit Sugar. "Another Reason to Exercise: Keep Down Healthcare Costs." July 23, 2009. (Oct. 24, 2011) http://www.fitsugar.com/Regular-Exercise-Helps-You-Save-Money-Health-Care-3544956
  • Hamm, Trent. "When to Buy in Bulk." The Christian Science Monitor. Sept. 3, 2011. (Oct. 24, 2011) http://www.csmonitor.com/Business/The-Simple-Dollar/2011/0903/When-to-buy-in-bulk
  • Herigstad, Sally. "5 Foods it's Cheaper to Grow." MSN. May 27, 2008. (Oct. 24, 2011) http://articles.moneycentral.msn.com/SavingandDebt/SaveMoney/5FoodsItsCheaperToGrow.aspx
  • Kaiser, Tiffany. "Study: U.S. Cable Boxes/DVRs Fail at Energy Efficiency." Daily Tech. June 27, 2011. (Oct. 24, 2011)
  • Kristof, Kathy. "Painless Ways to Cut Costs to Fund Holiday Spending." Los Angeles Times. Dec. 7, 2008. (Oct. 26, 2011) http://articles.latimes.com/2008/dec/07/business/fi-perfin7
  • Moreno, Robyn. "How to Save Money on Dry Cleaning." The Frisky. Jan. 23, 2009. (Oct. 24, 2011) http://www.thefrisky.com/2009-01-23/how-to-save-money-on-dry-cleaning/
  • Mueller, Karin Price. "Stop Living Paycheck to Paycheck." Better Homes and Gardens. (Oct. 24, 2011) http://www.bhg.com/health-family/finances/tips/stop-living-paycheck-to-paycheck/
  • Ogg, Erica. "Study: DVR, Set-Top Boxes Use Most Energy at Home." CNet. June 14, 2011. (Oct. 24, 2011) http://news.cnet.com/8301-31021_3-20071139-260/study-dvr-set-top-box-use-most-energy-at-home/
  • Philipson, Tomas. "The Economics of Obesity: A Report on the Workshop Held at USDA's Economic Research Service." May 2004. (Oct. 24, 2011) http://www.ers.usda.gov/Publications/EFAN04004/
  • Reynolds, Gretchen. "Can Exercise Keep You Young?" New York Times. March 2, 2011. (Oct. 24, 2011) http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/03/02/can-exercise-keep-you-young/

UP NEXT

5 Ways to Save Money (Besides Giving Up Lattes)

5 Ways to Save Money (Besides Giving Up Lattes)

HowStuffWorks talks to financial experts to find out the best ways to save money every day. And none of their advice includes giving up Starbucks.


More to Explore